Apply for Olusegun Obasanjo Prize for Discovery and Innovation | $5,000 Award

The African Academy of Sciences is pleased to announce Olusegun Obasanjo prize for Scientific discovery and/or Technological innovation.

The Olusegun Obasanjo Prize is a $5,000 award intended to reward and honour Africans who have made outstanding contributions in scientific discovery or technological innovation.

In this post, we will discuss the details, requirements, benefits, and the application procedure for the opportunity.

  • Host: African Academy of Sciences
  • Category: Competitions | Fellowships
  • Eligible Countries: African Countries
  • Reward: $5,000
  • No IELTS Required
  • Deadline: May 3, 2024

Olusegun Obasanjo Prize Details:

Applications are now open for the 2024 Olusegun Obasanjo Prize for Scientific Discovery and/or Technological Innovation.

The AAS seeks to promote and foster the growth of a vibrant African scientific community and to stimulate and nurture the spirit of scientific discovery and technological innovation that would serve socio-economic development in Africa.

The Olusegun Obasanjo Prize for scientific discovery and/or technological innovation is awarded once every two years to individual scientists or a group of scientists that the Prize Selection Committee deems to have made outstanding scientific discovery or technological innovation that generate social and economic benefits for the development of the continent.

Such breakthroughs may be based on advanced research in higher educational or research institutions or based on empirical observations derived from indigenous and local knowledge systems.

Eligibility Requirements for Olusegun Obasanjo Prize 2024

To be considered for the Olusegun Obasanjo Prize, you must satisfy the following criteria:

  • A major criterion of the International Prize Committee is that the nominee(s) is (are) evaluated on his/her (their) merit and achievement.  The other criteria are as follows:
    • The nominee(s) should be actively involved in the scientific or technological area in which s/he has made noticeable contribution;
    • The nominee’s works should be either already patented or has the potential to lead to a patent;
    • The nominee’s work should have multiplier effect.
  • The Prize is open to all African scientists and technologists and does not recognize gender, ethnic, or geographical differences.
  • National scientists and Fellows in the employment of or who serve as senior advisors to the AAS are not eligible for nomination.
  • Similarly, the award may not be made to any person who is a current member of the governing organs of the AAS.

Benefits of Olusegun Obasanjo Prize 2024

  • The Prize, which shall be awarded every two years, has four components:
    • A cash award of US$5,000 (this may be reviewed and adjusted by the Governing Council (GC) of the AAS);
    • An Inscribed Gold Medal;
    • A Citation in form of a certificate and;
    • Election into AAS Fellowship.
  • The Prize may be awarded to an individual or jointly to two or more persons who will share the cash award in equal amounts.

Eligible Themes for Olusegun Obasanjo Prize

  • The Chief Obasanjo Prize will be awarded in each of the following fields:
    • Biotechnology;
    • Energy;
    • Information and communication technologies and;
    • Material sciences.