Young Scientists Award for Frontier Science ($10,000)


This annual award, established in 2020, recognizes scientific achievements by young scientists living and working in a developing country.

The fifth edition of the award will recognize achievements in Life Sciences. The award, worth USD 10,000, is sponsored by Lenovo Ltd.


10 May 2024

Partner Organizations


Chinese Academy of Sciences

Country where tenable

Developing countries in the South

Age limit


Scientific field

Life Sciences

The recipients receive USD10,000 sponsored by Lenovo, a global leader in consumer, commercial, and enterprise technology that is the largest PC company in the world.

The subject rotates among various fields of science. The 2020, 2021, 2022, and 20230 awards recognized achievements respectively in the physical sciences; astronomy and cosmology; earth sciences; and mathematics and Artificial Intelligence (AI). 


Eligible candidates are young scientists (not older than 45 years of age), national of a developing country, who have been living and working in a developing country for a minimum of two years immediately prior to their nomination.

In 2024 the award will recognize achievements in life sciences.

Self nominations and nominations from jury members will not be considered. Fellows of TWAS are not eligible.

The same nominee cannot be nominated for more than one ‘Fellows of TWAS Awards’ in a given year. The secretariat retains the right to bring to the attention of the relevant nominators that the nomination may be suitable for another award, and the final decision whether or not to shift the nomination will be taken by the nominators themselves.


Selection of the winner is made on scientific merit. A pre-screening of the nominees will be done at TWAS. The nomination dossiers of the qualified candidates will then be submitted to jury members for their evaluation. Based on this evaluation the winner will be selected.


The nominations can only be submitted electronically through the online platform by clicking on the “NEW NOMINATION” button at the bottom of this page.

To resume working on saved nominations, click on the “RESUME” button at the bottom of this page.

The deadline for receiving nominations is 10 May 2024, however, we strongly recommend that you do not wait until the deadline but submit the nomination as early as you can to enable us to process it as quickly as possible.

Visit The Official Website For More Information

Apply Now