The Allan and Nesta Ferguson Scholarship

​The Allan and Nesta Ferguson Scholarships are available to international students who have applied to study a full-time one year Master’s course in the School of Global Development at UEA.

Allan and Nesta Ferguson Scholarships

Applicants must be a national of, or permanently domiciled, in one of the following countries:

This list is from the United Nations Human Development Index Report 2020.

Eligible Countries

  • Afghanistan
  • Angola
  • Benin
  • Burkina Faso
  • Burundi
  • Cambodia
  • Cameroon
  • Central African Republic
  • Chad
  • Comoros
  • Congo
  • Congo (DRC)
  • Côte d’Ivoir
  • Djibouti
  • Equatorial Guinea
  • Eritrea
  • Eswatini
  • Ethiopia
  • Gambia
  • Ghana
  • Guinea
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Haiti
  • Kenya
  • Lesotho
  • Liberia
  • Madagascar
  • Malawi
  • Mali
  • Mauritania
  • Mozambique
  • Myanmar
  • Nepal
  • Niger
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Rwanda
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Sudan
  • Sudan
  • Syria
  • Tanzania
  • Timor-Leste
  • Togo
  • Uganda
  • Ukraine
  • Vanuatu
  • Yemen
  • Zambia
  • Zimbabwe

Each scholarship will fund the student’s international tuition fees and provide them with a maintenance grant of £9,157 so that they can live in the UK and be able to cover the costs of living/ travel/ visa.

This scholarship will be awarded on the basis of financial need to applicants from any of the listed countries.

To be considered for this scholarship, you will need to apply by submitting an application form by the 19 April 2024.

Type of Course

  • Postgraduate Taught

Funding Type

  • Tuition Fees
  • Maintenance

Total Value


Total Value Range

Tuition = £21,200, Grant = £9,157

Number Available Per Year


Years Available

  • 2024


  • International Fees
  • Self Funded
  • Demonstrate genuine financial need


  • Global Development


  • Global Development


  • MA Conflict, Governance and Global Development
  • MA Global Development
  • MSc Impact Evaluation for Global Development
  • MA Media and Global Development
  • MA Global Social Development
  • MA Globalisation, Business and Sustainable Development
  • MSc Climate Change and Global Development
  • MSc Environment and Global Development
  • MSc Global Development Management
  • MA Education and Development
  • MA Agriculture and Rural Development

Further Criteria

Applicants must be a national of, or permanently domiciled, in one of the countries listed in the ‘Eligible Countries’ tab at the top of the page

Application Process

​​To be considered for this scholarship you will need to complete an application form. The deadline for applications is 19 April 2024.

Apply Now